Is Trix Cereal Vegan? Fully Explained! (2023)

Answer: No.

Is Trix Cereal Vegan? Fully Explained! (1)

It’s tricky to determine whether cereals are vegan or not because of the questionable ingredients they may contain. For instance, most of them contain sugar and artificial colors – two of the main ingredients that vegans avoid.

While some people consider Trix to be vegan, it’s not suitable for strict vegans because this cereal is made with artificial colors, sugar, and lanolin-derived vitamin D3. Lanolin is a waxy substance derived from the sheep’s sebaceous glands. These arguable ingredients are the main reasons vegans don’t support Trix cereal.

(Video) Why the Trix Rabbit ISN'T ALLOWED to Eat His Own Cereal

Others may overlook the animal-based ingredients in their cereal mix, but full-blooded vegans know that products with these controversial ingredients should be boycotted. Let me explain why you should opt for the best vegan alternatives and how you can kick-start your day with a fresh bowl of healthy cereal.

Table of Contents

Ingredients Of Trix Cereal

General Mills is the largest cereal brand in North America, and Trix cereal is one of the most popular choices among households. It has been distributing cereals for over 60 years, with Nestle making it more known in the global market.

So what are the ingredients used in making Trix cereals? Let’s discuss each ingredient to determine whether it is good for vegans. Here’s the list:

(Video) Ted 2 (1/10) Movie CLIP - Trix Are for Kids (2015) HD

  • Whole Grain Corn
  • Rice Flour
  • Canola Oil
  • Corn Syrup
  • Trisodium Phosphate
  • Malic Acid
  • Citric Acid
  • Folic Acid
  • Palmitate
  • Thiamin Mononitrate
  • Riboflavin
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Niacinamide
  • Zinc
  • Iron
  • Vitamin C
  • Tricalcium Phosphate
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Vitamin B12
  • Salt

The following are the problematic ingredients Trix cereal contains with an explanation why they are not suitable for vegans:

  • SugarNon-organic cane sugar is made more white by filtering it with animal bone char. There’s no way to check if the product you are buying uses sugar filtered with bone char. For this reason, vegans avoid food products that contain sugar.
  • Natural and artificial flavors – Don’t be deceived by the word “natural” regarding the flavor of your breakfast cereal. These so-called natural flavors still contain animal-derived ingredients. While Trix cereal may only have fruit-based flavoring, there’s no guarantee that it doesn’t contain animal ingredients.
  • Vitamin D3 – This ingredient in cereals is animal-based since it is derived from lanolin or the oil found in sheep’s wool. However, lanolin is added in small amounts and is the last ingredient in Trix cereal. It may be okay for some vegans but not for dedicated vegetarians.
  • Artificial Colors: Blue 1, Yellow 6, and Red 40 – While these artificial colors are made from petroleum instead of animal by-products, they are still tested on animals for safety purposes. As a result, vegans avoid products that contain these artificial colors.

Considering these controversial ingredients as vegan or not depends on how strict you are in living a vegan lifestyle. If you’re a laid-back vegan, these things might not be an issue for you.

But since it has vitamin D3, I would say it’s not suitable for vegans. Many people don’t think it’s compatible with vegans in the least, you can count me in. Animal-derived ingredients should be avoided if you want to live a plant-based lifestyle.

Is Trix Cereal Dairy-Free?

Trix cereal doesn’t contain dairy products such as lactose, butter, whey, or milk. Moreover, there’s no milk warning or traces of milk on the label, so Trix is safe for consumers with lactose intolerance or milk allergies.

Another thing, Trix doesn’t say gluten-free on its label. However, it also doesn’t mention any gluten on its list of ingredients. The only thing that could be tricky here is that the flavored puffs may have dairy in their flavorings.

Going dairy-free, especially in cereals, is completely healthy and beneficial to your body. In addition, it also prevents bloating, gas, and stomach pain – the most common symptoms of too much dairy in your daily diet.

(Video) Are Fortified Kids’ Breakfast Cereals Healthy or Just Candy?

When the body can’t break down milk sugar, this leads to gases and acids in the intestinal tract. As a result, you experience bloating, stomach cramps, and diarrhea. Detoxing from dairy may take up to three weeks; starting with a dairy-free cereal is a good step to living healthier.

What Trix Cereal Flavors Are Vegan?

Unfortunately, all Trix cereal flavors are non-vegan. This brand makes exclusive versions or flavors for its cereals. The most recent flavor they have released in the market is the Trix Trolls with Marshmallows.

From the ingredients per se, you will know that this new flavor is not suitable for vegans. It’s made with the same ingredients as the original version, but the gelatin is even more problematic. We all know that gelatin is certainly not vegan-friendly.

Other popular flavors that are not vegan are Froot Loops, Cheerios, Life Cereal, Rice Krispies, and Frosted Flakes. If you want to eat cereal in the morning, there are vegan alternatives you can try that we will also cover in this article.

Why Trix Is Not Suitable For Vegans?

Apart from the controversial ingredients that Trix contains, there are other reasons why it’s not suitable for vegans. For instance, it’s low in fiber and high in sugar, just like other cereals you can find on the market.

Eating Trix won’t keep you full, as well as fruits and veggies. According to Time, Trix cereal product contains 38% of sugar. This is too much, especially for children. Also, this is usually for kids who love to munch on sugary, colored cereals.

(Video) Healthy Trix Cereal | easy, paleo breakfast recipe

Moreover, health experts say it’s not healthy to consume cereal for breakfast daily. If you have nutritional goals, Trix is not a healthy cereal brand that you should include in your everyday diet. Removing this cereal from your lifestyle is like removing additives, artificial colors, sugar, and preservatives from your body.

Best Trix Vegan Alternatives

Now that you know Trix cereal is not vegan, you can explore other alternatives that suit your vegan lifestyle. While these alternatives still contain artificial colors, natural flavors, and sugar, you are guaranteed that they are free from the most controversial ingredient – vitamin D3.

The following are the best vegan alternatives to Trix cereal:

  • Nature’s Path Organic Sunrise Crunchy Cinnamon – This vegan alternative cereal contains organic cane sugar, meaning it’s not filtered using bone char. Other essential ingredients include brown rice flour, molasses, cinnamon, sea salt, buckwheat flour, flax seeds, quinoa, corn flour, cornmeal, organic cane sugar, and whole-grain cornmeal.
  • Quaker Life Breakfast Cereal – This is another healthy choice because Life Cereal is a great source of whole grains and vitamins. You can count on this cereal brand if you’re looking for a heart-healthy breakfast option, as it contains vitamin A, vitamin B6, soluble fiber, and plant-based protein.
  • 365 Everyday Value Organic Morning O’s – The Organic Morning O’s is made with 100% whole grain oats, organic cane sugar, organic rice flour, sea salt, and other essential vitamins. It has a wholesome flavor and delicate crunch, an excellent way to prepare yourself for the day.
  • Barbara’s Original Morning Oat Crunch – This super crunchy whole grain cereal make the perfect breakfast option for vegans who are always on the go. The toasted-tasting oats are high in fiber, protein, and vitamins you need to kick-start your day. It doesn’t contain vitamin D, so it’s a good option for a vegan cereal that is delicious and healthy at the same time.
  • Kashi GO Cinnamon Crisp – When it comes to vegan protein, fiber, and other plant-based ingredients, Kashi GO cereal is one of the popular choices. This cereal is non-GMO and is packed with vitamins and minerals needed to start your day. Plant-based ingredients include peanut butter, soy flakes, brown rice, rosemary extract, and whole grain oats.

Trix cereal and these vegan alternatives have almost the same ingredients, including the ones in the gray area. However, the only thing that makes a cereal not vegan-friendly is vitamin D3 from lanolin or the grease that is extracted from the wool of a sheep.

Trix Or A Healthier Treat

Some vegans say that it’s okay to eat Trix cereal because vitamin D3 is only used in smaller amounts. This is why many people, including the brand, say it’s a healthy option for kids and adults.

On the other hand, strict vegans say otherwise. Vitamin D3, no matter how minimally added to the cereal, is still an animal by-product and should be avoided at all costs.

(Video) Trix TV Commercial (1987)


Is Trix cereal vegan? ›

Trix is not suitable for vegans. On top of containing controversial ingredients like sugar, natural flavors, and artificial colors, it also contains vitamin D3, which is typically derived from lanolin, a wax secreted from the sebaceous glands of wool-bearing animals. Therefore, it's not vegan.

Does Trix cereal have gelatin? ›

A convenient, no-mess chewy cereal bar made with Trix™ cereal pieces and individually wrapped to enjoy on-the-go. Made without gelatin. Made with no arti cial avors, no colors from arti cial sources, and no high fructose corn syrup.

Is it OK to eat Trix? ›

Trix is not a particularly healthy choice to consume every day. With a high sugar content of 10.2 grams per 32 grams, nearly a third of every portion of Trix is sugar. Additionally, one bowl of Trix equates to nearly half of the American Heart Association's daily sugar intake recommendations for women.

Are Trix with marshmallows vegan? ›

Are Any Of The Trix Cereal Flavors Vegan? They are not. Trix has been known to make exclusive versions of their cereal, with Trix Trolls with Marshmallows being one of the most recent. Not only does this version contain the same culprits as the original flavor, but they also contain gelatin.

What cereals are 100% vegan? ›

  • 1 Quaker Life.
  • 2 Nature's Path.
  • 3 Cascadian Farm.
  • 4 Cap'n Crunch.
  • 5 Barbara's.
  • 6 Kashi.
  • 7 Three Wishes.
  • 8 One Degree Organic Foods.
Mar 7, 2023

What cereals are vegan friendly? ›

Popular cereal brands such as Cheerios, Special K, Raisin Bran, and Frosted Flakes are vegan-friendly. Specialized vegan cereals include Nature's Path, One Degree Organic Foods, Kashi, and Cascadian Farm.

What is Trix made of? ›


What animal is on the Trix cereal? ›

The Trix Rabbit—voiced by Mort Marshall in earlier commercials, and later by Russell Horton in later commercials—an anthropomorphic cartoon rabbit who finds children and wants to trick the children into giving him a bowl of cereal. He bursts with enthusiasm but is discovered every time.

Are Froot Loops vegan? ›

Fruit Loops are an American cereal, introduced in the 1960s by the brand Kellogg's, characterized by its vibrant colors and mascot Toucan Sam. Unfortunately, Fruit Loops contain a few animal-derived ingredients, meaning that the popular breakfast cereal is not considered vegan.

Is it illegal to have Trix over 12? ›

None of the Trix Services are intended for children. While our website is accessible to the world at large, we reserve the right to limit registered accounts, subscriptions and other products to those at least eighteen (18) years of age, without any liability or duties to you.

Is Trix for adults? ›

The cereal for kids, adults and tricky rabbits

Start the day with fun and with the fruity flavors of Trix. Six flavors of crispy puffs — raspberry red, lemony lemon, orangey orange, wildberry blue, grapity purple, and watermelon — are fortified with 12 vitamins and minerals, and 28 grams of whole grain per serving.

Are Trix for kids or adults? ›

Trix are for kids (and adults): Cereal makers put their faith in nostalgia - The Globe and Mail.

Is Trix yogurt vegan? ›

Is it Vegan? No. This product is not vegan as it lists 2 ingredients that derive from animals and 3 ingredients that could derive from animals depending on the source.

Are Frosted Flakes vegan? ›

You may wonder if frosted flakes cereal is appropriate for vegans. That's a complicated question, but the short answer is no. Although frosted flakes may seem to be an "accidentally vegan" product, it is not. It likely contains small amounts of sheep's wool.

Is Lucky Charms vegan? ›

Gelatin – All Lucky Charms cereal contains gelatin, which is made of various animal parts such as ligaments, bones, skin, and tendons. Of course this is definitely not vegan.

What candy is 100% vegan? ›

For example, AirHeads, Dots, Charms Blow Pops, Swedish Fish, and original Twizzlers are all vegan-friendly.

Why is Cheerios not vegan? ›

Unfortunately, most Cheerios aren't vegan. This is because Honey Nut Cheerios contains, as the name implies, honey, which is not vegan. However, both this cereal and the original Cheerios are also fortified with Vitamin D, derived from wool grease.

Is there anything 100% vegan? ›

Likewise, Prof Andrew Smith, the author of A Critique of the Moral Defense of Vegetarianism and a dedicated vegan himself, would probably concur that it is impossible to be 100% vegan, not least because plants get their nutrients from the soil, which is partly composed of decayed animal remains.

Are Oreos vegan? ›

Oreos have been a dairy-free and vegan treat since they first launched. Despite the creamy center filling, the cookie contains no milk. With the exception of a few flavors that contain some animal ingredients like honey, most Oreos are vegan.

Is Nutella vegan? ›

But is Nutella vegan? Sorry to be the ones to break it to you, but no, Nutella is not vegan. This is because it contains skimmed milk powder which is an animal-derived ingredient, so is therefore not made solely from plants.

Does Trix have red 40? ›

General Mills' Trix cereal contains 36.4 mg of Yellow 6, Blue 1, and Red 40, while Fruity Cheerios has 31 mg of food dyes including Red 40, Yellow 6, and Blue 1.

Why don't they sell Trix anymore? ›

According to legend, the item was discontinued because it was TOO popular!

How old is Trix? ›

Trix cereal was first introduced in 1954 and was the first fruit-flavored cereal on the market. The original round corn puffs came in three colors: raspberry red, orange orange, and lemony yellow.

What is the Trix cereal Bunny's name? ›

The Trix Rabbit (Also Known As Silly Rabbit Or Tricks) - voiced by Mort Marshall, and later by Russell Horton—is a anthropomorphic cartoon rabbit who is the Main Protagonist Of Trix Cereal and debuted in a 1959 Trix television commercial, and who continually attempted to trick children into giving him a bowl of Trix ...

What is the oldest cereal? ›

Granula wasn't much like the cereal we eat today. The first manufactured breakfast cereal, it was developed in 1863 by a doctor and health reformer named James Caleb Jackson. Jackson believed, as many did at the time, that sicknesses were based in the digestive system.

Do Trix colors taste different? ›

Although the taste, smell, and price will stay the same, Trix is ditching its blue and green colored cereal pieces because food scientists couldn't find suitable natural alternatives for those colors.

Are Skittles vegan? ›

Most types of Skittles are considered vegan, but not all. While Skittles Classic Fruits, Skittles Sour, Skittles Tropical and Wild Berry Skittles are all currently suitable for vegans, some special editions such as the Once in a Blue Moon Skittles are not, as the blue skittles contain animal product derivatives.

What cereal is not vegan? ›

Breakfast cereals

That's because some popular picks (cough, Kellogg's Frosted Mini-Wheats and Lucky Charms) contain gelatin, a binding agent extracted from the skin, bones, and connective tissue of cows and pigs. What's a vegan to do?

Is Mcdonald's chips vegan? ›

The fries are not coated in any fats or substances from an animal. Once at the restaurant, our fries are simply cooked in dedicated frying vats in a non-hydrogenated blend of sunflower and rapeseed oil which is 100 percent suitable for vegans.

Is it illegal to buy an 18 game for a child? ›

It's not a crime to play an 18+ game if you're under that age but it is illegal to supply it to someone under 18. Do your parents allow you to play 18+ games when you're under 18? If so, why do they let you play?

Why do they say Trix are for kids? ›

So the first question's answer is that he is a rabbit trying to eat children's cereal and every time, the kids would reprimand him by saying "silly rabbit, trix are for kids" as a reminder that rabbits don't eat cereal. The joke is that the cereal is so delicious even a rabbit wants to eat it.

Are all Trix the same? ›

Hold a blind taste test (as Food Beast did) and you'll come to the same conclusion: it's one flavor. Moreover, Trix and Fruity Pebbles cereals rely on just one flavor, too.

Is Trix yogurt a thing? ›

YOPLAIT IS BACK: Yoplait® Trix™ yogurt is back by popular demand in new flavors (berry and strawberry) with the fun colors and rabbit you love! MADE WITH GOODNESS: Yoplait yogurt contains no artificial flavors and no high fructose corn syrup.

How many people eat Trix? ›

According to this statistic, 1.79 million Americans consumed 10 portions or more in 2020.

Did Trix ever have marshmallows? ›

This cereal is described on the box as "naturally and artificially fruit flavored sweetened corn puffs with marshmallows." Traditionally, Trix cereal does not contain marshmallows.

What age can child have gummy candy? ›

If the are softer and easier to chew, like Annies fruit snacks, these are likely fine at age 2. If they are at all chewy and hard, like traditional gummy bears, I would wait until 3 or 4. TIP: Dentists don't love chewy candies since small pieces so easily get stuck in their teeth.

What is a Trix girl? ›

The Trix are a trio of witches who act as the main antagonists of the Winx Club series. The group is made up of three direct descendants of the Ancestral Witches, the most powerful and evil witches to have ever existed.

Can adults eat Trix yogurt? ›

Yoplait Trix Yogurt is a great source of dairy and bursting with natural fruit flavors. Yogurt is considered one of the top health foods for both children and adults.

Which Nestlé cereals are vegan? ›

Here is a list of Nestlé cereals that are certified vegan!
  • Coco Shreddies.
  • Frosted Shreddies.
  • Original Shreddies.
  • Shredded Wheat Original.
  • Shredded Wheat Bitesize.
  • Shredded Wheat Red Berries & Vanilla.
  • Nestlé GoFree Rice Pops.
  • Nestlé GoFree Corn Flakes.

What is Trix cereal made of? ›

Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Rice Flour, Corn Syrup, Canola and/or Sunflower Oil, Salt, Trisodium Phosphate, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and Other Color Added, Citric Acid, Malic Acid.

What makes cereal not vegan? ›

Cereal isn't vegan by default. Manufacturers often add animal-derived ingredients (such as milk) to their products, which are impossible for vegans to consume without modifications. Cereals for vegans must not contain animal products in their ingredient list.

Does Nestlé have vegan options? ›

At Nestlé we offer plant-based choices all the way from seafood alternatives right through to the Vegan KitKat. The products you see on the shelves today are the result of our many years of experience and expertise in plant proteins - and the innovation never stops.

What are the 6 flavors of Trix? ›

Six flavors of crispy puffs — raspberry red, lemony lemon, orangey orange, wildberry blue, grapity purple, and watermelon — are fortified with 12 vitamins and minerals, and 28 grams of whole grain per serving.

Are Rice Krispies vegan? ›

Kellogg's Rice Krispies Are Not Vegan

We contacted Kellogg's UK customer service team and they confirmed that Rice Krispies, as with many of their cereals, are vegetarian but not vegan.

Are any Kellogg's cereal vegan? ›

We're pleased to share that many of our most iconic cereals are vegan friendly, containing no animal derived ingredients including honey, gelatine and carmine colouring. Check out our range of vegan cereals below.

Does Trix yogurt exist? ›

Perfect for on-the-go breakfast or snack. The box contains 4 cups of each flavor. YOPLAIT IS BACK: Yoplait® Trix™ yogurt is back by popular demand in new flavors (berry and strawberry) with the fun colors and rabbit you love!

Does Trix taste different? ›

Hold a blind taste test (as Food Beast did) and you'll come to the same conclusion: it's one flavor. Moreover, Trix and Fruity Pebbles cereals rely on just one flavor, too.


1. March Milkness Taste Test: Fruity Cereals
(Good Mythical Morning)
2. BIG G CEREALS: Satur-Yay-Aaah!!! Wednesday
(Amber Hahn)
3. Your cereal is getting a (natural) facelift
(CNN Business)
4. Ted 2 - Best Scene in Movie - Liam Neeson Buying a Box of Trix
(Howard Stephen Posadas Ardon)
5. Best Low Carb Cereal? I Buy $109 of Magic Spoon & HighKey to Find Out
(How To Make Cocktails )
6. Trying Unusual Cereal Flavors • Safiya & Tyler Live
(Safiya & Tyler)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Zonia Mosciski DO

Last Updated: 03/09/2023

Views: 6109

Rating: 4 / 5 (71 voted)

Reviews: 86% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Zonia Mosciski DO

Birthday: 1996-05-16

Address: Suite 228 919 Deana Ford, Lake Meridithberg, NE 60017-4257

Phone: +2613987384138

Job: Chief Retail Officer

Hobby: Tai chi, Dowsing, Poi, Letterboxing, Watching movies, Video gaming, Singing

Introduction: My name is Zonia Mosciski DO, I am a enchanting, joyous, lovely, successful, hilarious, tender, outstanding person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.